top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekyliesworld62

Meet Kijsa Gifford

Updated: Dec 7, 2023


Kijsa Gifford is an actor, entrepreneur, and multi-award-winning athlete. Currently residing in Tampa, Florida, Kijsa spends much of her busy schedule between the entertainment hubs of Los Angeles, Atlanta, and New York City. Kijsa’s early years of rigorous training in gymnastics, volleyball, lacrosse, and collegiate pole vaulting, have prepared the budding actress for an array of roles in action films, as well as her other genres of interest which include drama, comedy, and rom-coms. With a unique family connection to iconic actress Marilyn Monroe, she named her production company Norma Jean Entertainment, positioning herself to undertake her own future film projects. Finally, she is a future D1 Pole Vaulter for the University of South Florida beginning her competitive season in 2025.


What made you want to start out in sports and acting?

"I started gymnastics when I was two years old, so it was just a part of my childhood. I got into modeling and acting when I was four. My sister was really into theater, so I grew up around it. I had to step away from acting due to the intense training as a gymnast but knew I would eventually come back to it someday when I had the opportunity to. "

How do you train as an athlete?

"It depends on which sport. Gymnastics is very, very intense. I trained almost 40 hours per week and had to homeschool from 2nd through 6th grade. Other sports like pole vault, volleyball, lacrosse, cheer, soccer and flag football are less intense—a few days a week. Currently, I work out with my trainer 5 days a week. When I am in sports season, practices and lifting is 5-6 days per week."


As a future college Pole Vaulter, what sparked your interest in the sport?

"Objectiveness. A lot of team sports and other sports are subjective. In pole vault you must have the talent to go over the highest bar—and no one can take that away from you. There is a lot of drama in sports these days that can affect talented athletes and force them to quit or leave sports altogether. A sport like track can help those athletes reach their goals without outside factors like jealousy, favoritism, parental influences, money, etc. You are either the best or you’re not. It’s based purely on your performances. That is why I am a huge advocate for track and field. "

Your production company is called Norma Jean Entertainment. Can you tell us a bit of the story behind that?

"My family’s connection to Marilyn Monroe was a big part of the decision. I also wanted the name to become synonymous with films from the female perspective. I want to produce films that fully develop female characters of all races and ethnicities and give young girls something positive to aspire to. Marilyn and many women are oversexualized and pigeonholed only for their looks. It took her a very long time to demonstrate her true acting ability. I want to be part of a positive change in the industry for women in film and help to turn out work that will make us all proud. "

You just appeared in The Coffee Shop, The Time is Now, and are in production of Myra’s Last Hope. What can you tell us about your past and upcoming projects?

"In The Time is Now, I play a drug addict which stretched me as an actress. In Myra’s Last Hope, I play a girl who is in search of her parents after becoming separated from them. It’s a dystopian Christmas film. I recently wrapped a psychological thriller for Lifetime that is slated for release in early 2024. The Coffee Shop is a short film. It’s currently on the festival circuit grabbing up a ton of awards. I also have three feature films and a TV series in 2024, though I cannot say too much about those at this time."


What is some advice for upcoming actors and athletes?

"Stay passionate! Without passion you lose focus. This is a brutal industry, and you will be told “no” way more than “yes.” With that in mind, do your best and let things roll off you. If a role is meant for you, it will happen. Don’t get discouraged by negativity. Just keep going. Get involved in student films and local FB groups. Put your best energy out there and, if you are aligned with your goals, walking with integrity, and speaking your truth, people will want to see more of you. "

What are 5 things that you think are critical in this industry to shine?

"Patience, drive, talent, perseverance, and time management skills."

What is your favorite film and why?

"WOW. That’s tough. I love so many movies. I have a few that come to mind for different reasons, and I couldn’t put one of them over another because they are all magnificent. My overall most entertaining film is Once Upon a Time in Hollywood. Both Leo and Brad were on fire in that film. I just chuckle thinking about some of the scenes. Another standout for me is Juno. I love it because she is such a layered character and is hilarious. Blake Lively and Anna Kendrick were fantastic in A Simple Favor. I also love The Color Purple, Fight Club, Shawshank Redemption, Barbie, A Few Good Men, Parasite, and Lady Bird. For action movies, I love Top Gun, Spiderman, The Matrix, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, The Hunger Games, and Thor. "

What is it about acting and making movies that you love?

"Life is about experiences and living through our emotions, feeling something, and trying to make sense of it all. Movies can be uplifting, inspiring, and a way to take a step away from your own perspective and see the world through the eyes of another. They can also be educational, depressing, and joyful, allowing the viewer to capture the essence of his or her own humanity in a short span of time. Movies can allow us to transcend our own human experiences into the abyss of the unknown leaving imprints that can last a lifetime. "

92 views0 comments
bottom of page